When we visit my husband’s family’s ranch – the memories and photos I get are awesome! There is a beauty to the landscapes, old barns, equipment and the freedom that comes through in all of the memories. These photos were taken of my children, husband and father-in-law when they were running off to go check on cows.

Love_edit

This project was inspired by the awesome Words and Paintery challenge. This is also an application for the Words and Paintery design team. There is so much inspiration and talent on this blog and if you like mixed media scrapping – head over and check it out!

words2b25262bpaintery2bchallenge2bmay2b2017

I love scrapping photos of my son because it gives me a chance for grungy scrapping with gears and metals and leave the flowers behind. It was hard at first (my first scrappy muse is a girly girl so flowers and pinks and purples reign supreme!).

Here are some close ups.

Love 2_editLove 4_editLove 3_editLove 5_edit

An old pair of jeans made a perfect background behind the photos on this layout. I added some doodled black lines around the green diamond to mimic the doodles on the background paper. I haven’t run out for the Finnabair rust paints yet (crazy right?) But magical powders in copper and chocolate brown layered with oxide broken china and cracked pistachio make a pretty good rusty look.

The photos begged to be cut into circles which I liked against the diamond shape of the background paper. Some gears (chipboard and metal) and some cheesecloth and string finished out the grungy look.

Thank you for looking!

