When I was growing up – I was obsessed with Barbies. I had totes of them and would sit for hours doing their hair and changing their clothes. I had one Ken doll for every 75 Barbie dolls (he must have LOVED that ratio). So when I had a little girl I dreamed of the day when she too would love Barbies. So for the Christmas of 2014 when she was almost 3, she got her first Barbie Doll house.

barbie-1_edit

This layout was inspired by the January challenge at More than Words. Celebrate and Bling are the prompts for the challenge. The celebration here is two fold – Christmas and the excitement of DD getting her first Barbie toys. Bling – well that is foil papers, glitter titles, glitter touches on the papers, and pearls.

mtw-201701-main

I forget somehow how awesome my Cricut Explore is. I found the Barbie title and the outline of the Barbie head online and uploaded it into my Cricut…..voila I had perfect diecuts to add to my layout!

I hand stitched around the Barbie head to add some more interest to the page. I dusted off my stickles and added glitter to the Barbie title, the flowers and to the background paper. I had some left over foil flower paper from Prima and I cut out those flowers and used them as embellishments. The watercolor sketchy look reminded me of Barbie.

Here are some closeups of the page:

