The holidays are a wonderful time for traditions – especially now that my DH and I have children. Growing up – we always went to my grandparent’s house to decorate their Christmas tree. They have the old style lights where you screw the light bulbs into the light sockets. You always had to make sure that there weren’t two matching colors next to one another =)

Now many years later – we still decorate the tree and screw in the light bulbs. And now I get to bring my kiddos and they get to make their memories as well! This photo was from Christmas 2014. DD is posing with one of my cousins who is a few years older than DD (my mom is one of the oldest of six kids).

Here is my layout!

traditions1_edit

I received inspiration for my layout from two amazing challenge blogs.

The November challenge at Words & Paintery provided such BEAUTIFUL colors!! I wasn’t thinking a Christmas layout until I pulled the picture and papers and it turned into the above. For me – the quote and the song reminded me of the craziness of normal life – family, work, commitments, disagreements – but then the holidays come and for those 6 weeks (between Thanksgiving and New Year’s Eve) there seems to be a feeling of newness and happiness.

words-and-paintery-november

The December challenge for More Than Words asked for traditions and handmade. The photo is of a long-standing family tradition that I now get to bring my children to. The handmade was almost all the embellishments. The large ornament in the background was a cricut cut – the flowers were made by me – and the holly leaves were cut with my big shot from chipboard and then painted and embossed.

mtw-201612main

Here are some closeups!

 

