When I saw the “Where the Wild Things” papers from Paper House – I instantly remembered my childhood and reading that book over and over again. It is also a PERFECT fit for my son who is now 20 months.

Pair all that with the October challenge from the Words and Paintery blog and this is what developed.

wild-rumpus-start

The Words and Paintery inspiration is nice denim shades of blue and gray/silver.

14237485_1103728623009595_6537728324700941163_n

The colors were a perfect fit for the Wild Things papers and DS’ baby photo. The words were inspirational in choosing the background paper showing denim texture. The “way of life” words were important as this photo was the beginning of DS’ life. He has everything in front of him and I want him to start his “wild rumpus.”

Life goes rarely as planned – but when we are prepared and ride the waves, we often times end up in a better place and meet wonderful people along the way.

Here are some close-ups!

To add some texture – I used thread, stitching and distressing on the stars, and masking with some gears. Watercolors added some color and my newest obsessions – Finnabair art stones. I LOVE these things!! You glue them on and then when they are dry – you can add any color of ink or paint to them that you want. They are so versatile! The come in the larger size I used here and smaller ones that seem to be more like microbead size.

Thank you for looking.

