Do you ever take pictures in the heat of the moment that seem like a good idea – and then once you print them you’re not sure what you are thinking? But throwing away pictures of your children or family seems mean – so you hang onto them anyway? This is the way I felt about the photo of DD and my mom from Christmas in 2014.

But then the September challenge came up for More than Words and I dusted it off for a scrapbooking transformation!

christmas-hashbrowns

The challenge at More than Words provided two options – scrapbook about your favorite family recipe or use an art recipe. And of course – what’s a recipe without delight?

mtw-201609main

Conveniently in this photo of DD and my mom, they are eating hashbrown casserole. Which is one of my favorite foods and the request for me to make whenever we have family gatherings. So I wrote the recipe and instructions and placed that on the page with the photo and then embellished around it.

For me – delight is Christmas and being with family. Having children definitely changes the meaning of Christmas. Making the day special for them is a gift in and of itself!

Despite my love for Christmas – I don’t buy a lot of Christmas papers, so this layout was completed with what I had on hand.

christmas-hashbrowns_coloring

I came across this paper and instantly fell in love with the border. I cut out the leopard spots in the center and colored in the border with red and green markers and some Wink of Stella markers in red and gold. The leopard went into the scrap bin for another project.

Here are some other close-ups!

christmas-hashbrowns_6christmas-hashbrowns_5christmas-hashbrowns_4christmas-hashbrowns_3christmas-hashbrowns_2

I was so excited for an excuse to use my Heartfelt Creations poinsettia stamp and die for the first time. Oh how I love making flowers with their stamps and dies!!! A little red Winks of Stella on the veins and they glisten. Doesn’t come out as much in the photos, but in real life this is one sparkly page!

Thanks for looking and thanks to More than Words for this wonderful challenge to push me out of my comfort zone.

