I love playing with inks and stamps and texture pastes – but lately paints and glitter have been lots of fun too!!!

This layout was inspired by the October mood board from Scrap Around the World.

SATW October  2014

 

The watercolor look and the colors really struck me and I wanted to add these touches to my layout. I also loved the vibrant butterflies.

So here is what I came up with!

Beauty

The background was built with many layers – starting with gesso and a stencil then gelatos went over that for the watercolor look. Some stone gold texture paste and another stencil added the flourishes behind the photo. It was a little loud, so I toned it down with some gesso. I then added some stamps with distress inks and then stamped some glittery purple paint as well to the background.

The flowers and butterflies were all hand-made. The flowers are a combination of ribbon rosettes and paper flowers and leaves. The butterflies were made from a Spellbinders die and stickles for some glimmer.

Beauty 2 Beauty 1Beauty 3 Beauty 4

The lace behind the photo didn’t stand out enough, so I added some of the gold stone texture paste to the some of the lace’s design elements to add alittle more interest.

In the end, I think the layout turned out as a great way to preserve the memory of my daughter’s school pictures from last fall.

Thanks so much for looking!!

 

 

