Monkey   Here is this week’s entry in the CSI Color Challenge #119. This photo shows DD sitting in a tree with her stuffed monkey. She sat up there for 15 minutes making monkey noises =) The background paper was from a texture stack I picked up at Joann’s for $6. The green overlay piece was cut using my Cricut with the Paper Lace 2 cartridge. I got it from Joann’s for $20 and it’s a GREAT cartridge. It cuts overlays, borders and has a great font. For steampunk and boy layouts, it has an amazing gear overlay and border that I can’t wait to try. For the title, I used chipboard alphabet that I picked up in a clearance bin for $1. Loved the font, but the colors were pretty bad. I just used acrylic paint in the color I wanted to paint them and make the letters work with the page. The frame around the photo were cut using the adorning square dies from Spellbinders. I LOVE these dies. They are so intricate and amazing. They heavily promote in the card making world – might I rarely make a layout without using one. The burlap came from a burlap sack I bought while visiting my in-laws. I got an entire sack for $2.50. Totally beats the high price Hobby Lobby and Michael’s are selling burlap ribbon for. Most placed I have seen it want $10 or more for a 6″ wide spool of ribbon. I also picked up a burlap sack at a flea market last weekend for $3.50 – this one had coffee beans. Bonus for using used burlap sacks – they smell good. Thanks for looking!!

